Call for Nominations: 2023 Ethel Newbold Prize

The Ethel Newbold Prize for excellence in statistics is awarded every two years. The name of the prize recognizes the historically important role of women in statistics. The prize itself is for excellence in statistics without reference to the gender of the recipient. The Ethel Newbold Prize is generously supported by Wiley.

The Prize will be awarded to an outstanding statistical scientist in early or mid-career for a body of work that represents excellence in research in mathematical statistics, and/or excellence in research that links developments in a substantive field to new advances in statistics. In any year in which the award is due, the prize will not be awarded unless the set of all nominations includes candidates from both genders. The award consists of the prize amount of 2500€ together with an award certificate. The awardee will be invited to present a talk at the following Bernoulli World Congress, Bernoulli-sponsored major conference, or ISI World Statistics Congress.

The Bernoulli Society’s Newbold Prize Committee invites nominations for the fifth Ethel Newbold Prize. Each nomination should include a letter outlining the case in support of the nominee, along with a curriculum vitae. Nominations as well as any inquiries about the award should be sent to Gesine Reinert at The deadline for nominations is 30 November 2022. The prize winner will be selected in Spring 2023.

The Ethel Newbold Prize was founded in 2014. Previous winners, with the year of their award, are:
2015: Judith Rousseau
2017: Richard Nickl
2019: Mathias Drton
2021: Marloes Maathuis