We are pleased to announce the following IMS members have received the 2022 IMS Lawrence D. Brown PhD Student Award:

Rungang Han

Department of Statistical Science,

Duke University

Rong Ma

Department of Statistics,

Stanford University

Chan Park

Department of Statistics,

University of Wisconsin-Madison

The recipients of the award will present at an invited session as part of the IMS Annual Meeting in London June 27-30, 2022.  The award winners were selected using a process that incorporated input from the other applicants through peer reviews and an IMS selection committee.

Lawrence D. Brown (1940-2018), Miers Busch Professor and Professor of Statistics at The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania, had a distinguished academic career. He was known for his groundbreaking work in a broad range of fields including decision theory, recurrence and partial differential equations, nonparametric function estimation, minimax and adaptation theory, and the analysis of call-center data. Professor Brown’s firm dedication to all three pillars of academia—research, teaching, and service—sets an exemplary model for generations of new statisticians. The IMS Lawrence D. Brown PhD Student Award advocates for the values by which he lived.

To donate to the IMS Lawrence D. Brown PhD Student Award Fund, please visit: https://www.imstat.org/shop/donation/