The purpose of the new COPSS Leadership Academy is to recognize early-career statistical scientists who show evidence of and potential for leadership and who will help shape and strengthen the field. Members are selected based on outstanding contributions to the field of statistical science in one or more of the following areas: education, training, and mentoring; original research and software development; impactful and ethical practice; and service to the profession and to society. Among the nine early-career statisticians chosen this year were four IMS members.

Claire McKay Bowen, Lead Data Scientist, Privacy and Security, at the Urban Institute: For contributions to the development and broad dissemination of Statistics and Data Science methods and concepts, particularly in the emerging field of Data Privacy, and for leadership of technical initiatives, professional development activities, and educational programs.

Jonas Peters, Statistics Professor in the Department of Mathematical Sciences at the University of Copenhagen: For path-breaking contributions to statistical issues in connection with causality research, for an extraordinary active role in research dissemination and for outstanding inspiration of junior researchers.

Aaditya Ramdas, Assistant Professor in the Department of Statistics and Data Science, and Machine Learning Department, at Carnegie Mellon University: For significant contributions to sequential nonparametric inference, uncertainty quantification in machine learning, and statistical methods for reproducibility, as well as the development of an array of unique courses and tutorials, along with extensive mentorship and outreach activities.

Lingzhou Xue, Associate Professor of Statistics, Department of Statistics at Pennsylvania State University: For his innovative contributions to the theory and methodology of high-dimensional statistics and statistical learning, and for his outstanding and prolific service to the profession and to society.

You can read more about the Leadership Academy and the full list of 2021 winners at

More COPSS award announcements here!