Nearly 500 members of the American Association for the Advancement of Science have earned the lifetime distinction of AAAS Fellow. AAAS Fellows are elected each year by their peers serving on the Council of AAAS, the organization’s member-run governing body. The title recognizes important contributions to STEM disciplines, including pioneering research, leadership within a given field, teaching and mentoring, fostering collaborations, and advancing public understanding of science.

A virtual induction ceremony for the 489 newly elected Fellows will take place on Feb. 13, 2021, the Saturday following the AAAS Annual Meeting. The honorees will receive, by mail, official certificates and rosette pins in gold and blue, colors that symbolize science and engineering.

Fellows are elected in different subject sections. In the Section on Information, Computing and Communication there was one IMS member: Anuj Srivastava, Florida State University. Anuj was elected “For distinguished contributions to the field of statistical pattern recognition, particularly for development of differential geometric approaches to statistical shape analysis.”

In the Section on Statistics, there were four IMS members/Fellows.

Sudipto Banerjee, University of California, Los Angeles: For innovative contributions to Bayesian methodology with focus on spatially indexed information, for high-impact applications, for educational and mentoring excellence, professional service and academic administration.

David L. Banks, Duke University: For leadership at the Statistical and Applied Mathematical Sciences Institute, research on risk analysis, and editorial service.

Qi Long, University of Pennsylvania: For distinguished contributions to analysis of incomplete data, causal inference and analysis of big data for advancing precision health.

Richard L. Smith, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill: For distinguished contributions to statistics, particularly the statistical analysis of extreme events and environmental applications including climate change and air pollution.