We are pleased to announce the following members have been selected to receive the 2019 IMS Lawrence D. Brown PhD Student Award:

Yuqi Gu

Didong Li

Ashwin Pananjady

Yuqi Gu is a PhD student in the Department of Statistics at the University of Michigan; Didong Li is in the Department of Mathematics at Duke University; and Ashwin Pananjady is in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at the University of California, Berkeley.

The three PhD students will present at an invited session as part of the World Congress/IMS Annual Meeting in Seoul, South Korea, August 17–21, 2020. More information about the congress can be found at http://www.wc2020.org/. If you want to join them on the program at the World Congress, abstract submission will be opening soon, with a deadline of March 31, 2020.

Larry Brown

Lawrence D. Brown (1940–2018), Miers Busch Professor and Professor of Statistics at The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania, had a distinguished academic career. He was known for his groundbreaking work in a broad range of fields including decision theory, recurrence and partial differential equations, nonparametric function estimation, minimax and adaptation theory, and the analysis of call-center data. Professor Brown’s firm dedication to all three pillars of academia — research, teaching, and service — sets an exemplary model for generations of new statisticians. The IMS Lawrence D. Brown PhD Student Award advocates for the values by which he lived.

To donate to the IMS Lawrence D. Brown PhD Student Award Fund (or another fund), please visit https://www.imstat.org/shop/donation/.