IMS members Nicholas Horton (Amherst College) and Wendy Lou (University of Toronto) have taken on new leadership roles as Chair and Secretary/Treasurer, respectively, of the Committee of Presidents of Statistical Societies. COPSS serves to foster connections between statistical societies and to organize a series of awards for outstanding work in the field. IMS is a founding member of COPSS.

As a reminder, the deadlines for nominations for the Fisher Award, are approaching. The nomination deadline for the 2017 Fisher Award and Lectureship is December 15, 2016. The deadline for the COPSS Presidents’ Award, the F.N. David Award, and the George Snedecor Award is January 15, 2017.

Please see for more information.