The NISS Board of Trustees established the Jerome Sacks Award for Cross-Disciplinary Research in 2000 to honor Sacks’ service as the founding director of NISS. The annual prize of $1,000, to be presented this year at the NISS/SAMSI Joint Statistical Meetings Reception in Seattle, Washington, recognizes high- quality cross-disciplinary research involving the statistical sciences.

The 2015 award selection committee solicits nominations of researchers whose work is cross-disciplinary, sustained and encompasses innovation in the statistical sciences. Preference will be given to work that, in the spirit of NISS, creates new research relationships bridging the statistical sciences and other disciplines, or new bridges among academia, industry and government. Achievements such as patents and software creation will be considered.

Past winners (2014–2001) are Terry Speed, Kenneth Burnham, William Meeker, Emery Brown, Sallie Keller, Ramanathan Gnanadesikan, John Rice, Cliff Spiegelman, Adrian Raftery, Jeff Wu, Doug Nychka, Raymond Carroll, Max Morris and Elizabeth Thompson.

The nomination process is very straightforward. All that is needed is a nomination letter of no more than two pages, names of at least two other individuals who have consented to write letters of support and a CV. Nomination letters should be submitted by June 12, 2015 to