Travel Grants for ICM 2014, Seoul, Korea, August 13–21, 2014

The American Mathematical Society has applied to the National Science Foundation (NSF) for funds to permit partial travel support for US. mathematicians attending the 2014 International Congress of Mathematicians (ICM 2014) August 13–21, 2014, in Seoul, Korea. Subject to the award decision by the NSF, the Society is preparing to administer the selection process, which would be similar to previous programs funded in 1990, 1994, 1998, 2002, 2006 and 2010.

Instructions on how to apply for support will be available on the AMS website at The application period will be September 1–November 15, 2013. This travel grants program, if funded, will be administered by the Membership and Programs Department, AMS, 201 Charles Street, Providence, RI 02904-2294. You can contact us at, 800-321-4267, ext. 4113 or 401-455-4113.

This program is open to US mathematicians (those who are currently affiliated with a US institution). Early career mathematicians (those within six years of their doctorate), women, and members of US groups underrepresented in mathematics are especially encouraged to apply. ICM 2014 Invited Speakers from US institutions should submit applications, if funding is desired.

Applications will be evaluated by a panel of mathematical scientists under the terms of a proposal submitted to the National Science Foundation (NSF) by the Society.

Should the proposal to the NSF be funded, the following conditions will apply: mathematicians accepting grants for partial support of the travel to ICM 2014 may not supplement them with any other NSF funds. Currently, it is the intention of the NSF’s Division of Mathematical Sciences to provide no additional funds on its other regular research grants for travel to ICM in 2014. However, an individual mathematician who does not receive a travel grant may use regular NSF grant funds, subject to the usual restrictions and prior approval requirements.

Visit for more details. All information currently available about the ICM 2014 program, organization and registration procedure is located on the ICM 2014 website,

Jesse Berlin to receive Lagakos Distinguished Alumni Award

The Department of Biostatistics at Harvard’s School of Public Health has announced that Dr. Jesse Berlin will be this year’s recipient of the annual Lagakos Distinguished Alumni Award. Dr. Berlin will be presented with the award and will deliver a lecture on October 31st, preceding the 2013 HSPH Alumni Weekend and the Annual Meeting of the American Public Health Association in Boston.

This award honors the career of Professor Stephen Lagakos by recognizing Department alumni whose research in statistical theory and application, leadership in biomedical research, and commitment to teaching have had a major impact on the theory and practice of statistical science.

Dr. Berlin did his dissertation research under the direction of Dr. Colin Begg and received his ScD from the Department in 1988. He joined the faculty of the University of Pennsylvania in 1989, later became the Director of Biostatistics for the University of Pennsylvania Cancer Center, and then became Faculty Director of the Biostatistics and Epidemiology Consulting Center. In 2004, he took the position of Senior Director of Statistical Science at Johnson and Johnson Pharmaceuticals, and is currently the Vice President of Epidemiology at Janssen Research & Development, LLC. Dr. Berlin is a Fellow of the ASA (2004).

The Lagakos Distinguished Alum award is being given in recognition of Dr. Berlin’s achievements in education, scientific collaboration and statistical methodology, as well as his leadership in the pharmaceutical industry.

The lecture and award ceremony will take place on Thursday, October 31, 2013, at 1:30pm in FXB G13 at HSPH, with a reception to follow. All are invited. RSVP at To find out more, please visit or contact Shaina Andelman

Call for Nominations: 2013 Applied Probability Society Best Publication Award

The Applied Probability Society of INFORMS invites nominations for its 2013 Best Publication Award. The Award, which recognizes outstanding contributions to Applied Probability, consists of a plaque and $1000. It will be presented at the INFORMS Annual Meeting, in Minneapolis, 6–9 October, 2013. Nominations are being solicited until 1 August, 2013. See for more details.

Nominations: Myrto Lefkopoulou Distinguished Lecturer

The Department of Biostatistics, Harvard School of Public Health, has named Nilanjan Chatterjee, Senior Investigator and Chief of the Biostatistics Branch, National Cancer Institute, Division of Cancer Epidemiology & Genetics, as the 2013 Myrto Lefkopoulou Distinguished Lecturer. Dr. Chatterjee will present a lecture entitled “Genetic Architecture of Complex Diseases: Implications for Discovery, Prediction and Prevention” on September 19 at the Harvard School of Public Health.

The lectureship was established in perpetuity in memory of Dr. Myrto Lefkopoulou, a faculty member and graduate of Harvard School of Public Health. Dr. Lefkopoulou tragically died of cancer in 1992 at the age of 34 after a courageous two-year battle. She was deeply loved by friends, students and faculty. Each year the Lectureship is awarded to a promising statistician who has made contributions to either collaborative or methodologic research in the applications of statistical methods to biology or medicine and/or has shown excellence in the teaching of biostatistics. Ordinarily, the lectureship is given to a statistician within 15 years of receiving an earned doctorate.

Previous recipients of the Lefkopoulou Memorial Lectureship have been Louise Ryan, Kathryn Roeder, Giovanni Parmigiani, Hans-Georg Mueller, Trevor Hastie, Michael Boehnke, Ronald Brookmeyer, Steven N. Goodman, Bradley P. Carlin, Danyu Lin, Marie Davidian, Geert Molenberghs, Mark van der Laan, Jianqing Fan, Francesca Dominici, Heping Zhang, Xihong Lin, David Dunson, Jeffrey Morris and Rafael Irizzary.

Nominations for next year’s lectureship are welcome and should be sent to the Myrto Lefkopoulou Lecture Committee, Department of Biostatistics, Harvard School of Public Health, 655 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02115 or via email to Nominations should include a letter of nomination and a CV. The nomination deadline is March 31, 2014.