Each year IMS holds elections so that its members can choose the next President-Elect of the Institute and people to represent them on IMS Council. The candidate for President-Elect is Bin Yu, who is Chancellor’s Professor in the Department of Statistics and the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, at the University of California at Berkeley.

The 12 candidates standing for election to the IMS Council are (in alphabetical order) Rosemary Bailey, Erwin Bolthausen, Alison Etheridge, Pablo Ferrari, Nancy L. Garcia, Ed George, Haya Kaspi, Yves Le Jan, Xiao-Li Meng, Nancy Reid, Laurent Saloff-Coste, and Richard Samworth.

The elected Council members will join Arnoldo Frigessi, Steve Lalley, Ingrid Van Keilegom and Wing Wong, whose terms end in 2013; and Sandrine Dudoit, Steve Evans, Sonia Petrone, Christian Robert and Qiwei Yao, whose terms end in 2014.

Read all about the candidates here, and cast your vote at http://imstat.org/elections/. Voting is open until May 29.