In the last issue, we reported on the Committee of Presidents of Statistical Societies (COPSS) awards, presented at its annual ceremony at JSM in Miami Beach on August 3 by COPSS president Xihong Lin. The winner of the President’s Award—and, unusually, also the Snedecor Award—was Nilanjan Chatterjee of the National Cancer Institute, USA. The F.N. David award winner for 2011 was Marie Davidian, North Carolina State University, and the 2011 Fisher Lecturer was C.F Jeff Wu of Georgia Institute of Technology. There is an interview with Chatterjee in the print/PDF Bulletin (Oct/Nov 2011).

Call for nominations for 2012 awards
Please visit for details of eligibility and nomination requirements for all these awards. Send nominations preferably by email in PDF format to the committee chairs, as below:

Presidents’ Award: deadline January 15

The Presidents’ Award is presented annually to a young member of one of the participating societies of COPSS. The award is presented in recognition of outstanding contributions to the statistics profession. It is typically granted (with some exceptions) to an individual who has not yet reached his or her 41st birthday during the calendar year of the award (see COPSS website for more details on eligibility criteria).

Nominations must be sent by January 15, 2012, preferably by email in PDF format, to:
Tony Cai
Chair, COPSS Presidents’ Award Committee
The Wharton School
Department of Statistics
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6340
t 215-898-8224
f 215-898-1280

Elizabeth L Scott Award: deadline January 15

The Elizabeth L. Scott Award is presented biennially (in even years) to an individual who has helped foster opportunities in statistics for women and recognizes an individual who exemplifies the contributions of Elizabeth Scott’s lifelong efforts to further the careers of women in academia.

Nominations should be sent by January 15, 2012 preferably by email in PDF format, to:
Francesca Dominici
Department of Biostatistics
Harvard School of Public Health
SPH 2 – Rm 405
t 617-432-4908
f 617-432-5619

Fisher Lectureship and Award: deadline December 15

The Fisher Lectureship and Award, awarded annually, was established in 1963 by COPSS to honor the outstanding contributions of the late Sir Ronald Aylmer Fisher, and those of a current statistician, on aspects of statistics and probability that closely relate to the scientific collection and interpretation of data. The award exists to recognize the importance of statistical methods for scientific investigations.

Nominations should be sent by December 15, 2011 preferably by email in PDF format, to:
Ross Prentice c/o Sheri Greaves
COPSS Fisher Lecturer Award Committee
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
1100 Fairview Ave N, M3-A410,
Seattle WA 98109
For federal express: FHCRC,1212 Aloha Ave, Seattle WA 98109
t 206-667-6756
e and