In October, the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) council elected nearly 505 members as fellows, and a virtual induction ceremony took place on February 13. Election as a fellow honors members whose efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications in service to society have distinguished them among their peers and colleagues. The eight new fellows of AAAS Section U (Statistics), six of whom are IMS Fellows or members, are:

Catherine A. Calder, The University of Texas at Austin

Jacqueline M. Hughes-Oliver, North Carolina State University

Marek Kimmel, Rice University

Ping Ma, University of Georgia

Wendy L. Martinez, US Census Bureau

Dionne L. Price, US Food and Drug Administration

Peihua Qiu, University of Florida

Hui Zou, University of Minnesota