The Committee of Presidents of Statistical Societies presented its awards at the Joint Statistical Meetings. The COPSS Presidents’ Award was given to Daniela Witten: you can read an interview with her by Amita Manatunga and Maya Sternberg here. The other awards were presented to Madhu Mazumdar (the Elizabeth L. Scott Award); Nancy Reid (the COPSS Distinguished Achievement Award and Lectureship); and to Xi Chen, Natalie Dean, Davina Durgana, Philip Ernst, Pierre Jacob, Kristian Lum, Lester Mackey, and Betsy Ogburn (elected to the COPSS Leadership Academy).

Photos from JSM

Selected photos from this year’s Joint Statistical Meetings in Washington DC (August 7–10) are available on the ASA’s Flikr page: