The Caucus for Women in Statistics (CWS) is pleased to announce the 2022 Societal Impact Award recipient, Dr. Jana Asher, Department of Mathematics and Statistics at the Slippery Rock University, for her efforts in combating societal injustice through accurate and ethical quantitative measurement, and for her commitment toward teaching civic responsibility and JEDI principles through statistical practice. Dr. Asher is a fellow of the American Statistical Association and an elected member of the International Statistical Institute. 

Dr. Esther Drill, Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics, is the first runner-up for her distinguished leadership and dedication to making the field of biostatistics more inclusive through teaching and service. They will be honored at the CWS reception at JSM this summer.

Congratulations to Drs. Asher and Drill, and thank you for making a positive impact on our society through statistics and data science!

Call for nominations

Do you know someone who you think is deserving of this award? See our website for more information. The next deadline is February 15, 2023.