The UK Royal Statistical Society has announced its medals and prizes for 2022. 

The Guy Medal in Gold is awarded to Nancy Reid for her pioneering work on higher-order approximate inference which provides a foundational basis for optimal information extraction from data, and has wide-ranging impact on the practice of data analysis. She has made numerous deep mathematical and methodological contributions to the theory of likelihood inference, in particular on the tangent exponential model and directional inference. She is known for her extensive service to the worldwide statistical community, and as a role model for future generations of statisticians. [See also the COPSS DAAL announcement.]

The Guy Medal in Silver is awarded to Paul Fearnhead for his numerous outstanding contributions to statistics, particularly in Bayesian computational statistics, changepoint methods, population genetics and inference for continuous-time stochastic processes.

The Guy Medal in Bronze is awarded to Rajen Shah for his pioneering research on large-scale statistical learning, including important contributions to goodness-of-fit testing, interaction search and conditional independence testing. His work is characterised by innovative methodological development, precise analysis and practical relevance, as evidenced in his five JRSSB papers.

The Barnett Award is awarded to Ruth King, who is internationally known for her work in statistical ecology, and in particular bringing to prominence in this field, the use of Bayesian statistics. She has worked with different types of data — notably capture-recapture and ring-recovery — as well as others such as count data and telemetry data. In addition, she has worked with various associated models, including integrated population models, state-space and hidden Markov-type models applied to ecological data. She has published more than 70 papers and co-authored two books. She has also played important roles in the National Centre for Statistical Ecology, including as deputy director, and has championed environmental and ecological statistics nationally and internationally. 

The David Cox Research Prize is awarded to Dominik Rothenhäusler for his ground-breaking work on causality, robustness and replicability with wide-ranging implications on many practical problems.