The International Congress of Mathematicians (ICM) is the largest conference on pure and applied mathematics as well as one of the oldest scientific congresses. ICMs are run every four years by the International Mathematical Union in partnership with host country organizers. ICM 2022 will meet July 6–14 in St. Petersburg, Russia: 

An invitation to give a plenary lecture to the thousands of ICM participants is considered a special distinction in the mathematics profession. Among the selected plenary lecturers are IMS Fellow Alice Guionnet, and Scott Sheffield, who gave the 2016 IMS/Bernoulli Doob Lecture and a 2015 IMS Medallion Lecture. 

Alice Guionnet works in the field of probability theory, especially statistical mechanics, random matrix theory and free probability. She has held a position at The French National Centre for Scientific Research since 1993, was a Miller fellow in Berkeley in 2005, and professor at Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 2012–2015. She is currently Research Director at CNRS, at the École normale supérieure de Lyon. She is a member of the French Academy of Sciences, Academia Europeae, and the European Academy of Sciences and a winner of the Oberwolfach Prize in mathematics, the Rollo Davidson prize, the Loève prize, and the Blaise Pascal Medal in Mathematics of the European Academy of Sciences.

Scott Sheffield is a professor in the Department of Mathematics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. His interests include probability, game theory and mathematical physics, with a particular focus on random objects with fractal properties, including curves, surfaces, growth processes, and trees. He is especially known for his work on models with conformal symmetries, including Schramm–Loewner evolutions, Gaussian free fields and Liouville quantum gravity. Sheffield is a winner of the Clay Research Award, the Loève Prize, and the Rollo Davidson Prize, the Sloan Research Fellowship and the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers. 

Among the invited lecturers, which are organized into sections, are the following. In Probability (Section 12): Jinho Baik, Keith Ball, Pierre Cardaliaguet, Benoît Collins, François Delarue, Jian Ding, Julien Dubédat, Ronen Eldan, Tadahisa Funaki, Patricia Gonçalves, Ewain Gwynne, Hubert Lacoin, Elchanan Mossel, Alexander I. Nazarov, Dmitry Panchenko, Kavita Ramanan, Daniel Remenik, Laurent Saloff-Coste, Eric Vanden-Eijnden, Peter Varju and Melanie Matchett Wood.

In Statistics And Data Analysis (Section 17): Francis Bach, Bin Dong, Stefanie Jegelka, Yann Lecun, Oleg V. Lepski, Gabor Lugosi, Richard Nickl, Bernhard Schölkopf, David Silver and Cun-Hui Zhang.

You can read profiles of the speakers at and