American Statistical Association Fellows

The American Statistical Association (ASA) has bestowed its prestigious distinction of Fellow on 48 of its members, for their professional contributions, leadership, and commitment to the field of statistical science. Among the 2021 ASA Fellows are these 12 IMS members/Fellows: Jeffrey D. Blume, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine; Li-Shan Huang, National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan; Mikyoung Jun, University of Houston; Stanislav Kolenikov, Abt Associates; Rui Song, North Carolina State University; Lily Wang, Iowa State University (now at George Mason University); Xiao Wang, Purdue University; Xiaofei Wang, Duke University Medical Center; Mark Daniel Ward, Purdue University; James G. Wendelberger, Los Alamos National Laboratory; Hongquan Xu, University of California, Los Angeles; and Yichuan Zhao, Georgia State University. 

The complete list is at (search by year elected = 2021). Congratulations to all the Fellows.


Xuming He: ASA Founders Award

Xuming He, University of Michigan, was one of three recipients of the ASA Founder’s Award, “For leadership in statistics and service to statistical communities at the national and international levels,” and specifically for his many years of service on various ASA committees.


Samuel S. Wilks Memorial Award

Sallie Keller, University of Virginia, was selected to receive the Samuel S. Wilks Memorial Award, “For transdisciplinary collaborations to address complex societal problems; for research to advance data science for the public good; and for innovations in experiential education to create a dynamic, data-enabled workforce.”


Wayne Fuller receives ASA Mentoring Award

Wayne Fuller, Iowa State University, received the ASA’s Mentoring Award for his “deep understanding of the relationship between technical work in statistics and the development of individual career paths; for providing an ideal model of mentorship for students and junior colleagues; and for his generosity of spirit and sustained dedication to his students and colleagues.” Linda Young, USDA NASS, was also recognized.


Outstanding Statistical Application Award

Eric B. Laber, North Carolina State Univ., received the ASA’s Outstanding Statistical Application Award, with his co-authors Qian Guan, Brian J. Reich and Dipankar Bandyopadhyay, for their 2020 JASA paper, “Bayesian Nonparametric Policy Search with Application to Periodontal Recall Intervals.”