The ASA Noether Awards were established in 1999 as a tribute to Gottfried Emanuel Noether, a leading scholar in nonparametric statistics with interests in research and teaching. The Noether Senior Scholar Award is given each year to a distinguished senior researcher/teacher in nonparametric statistics and the Noether Young Scholar Award is given each year to an accomplished young researcher. 

Regina Liu receives the Noether Senior Scholar Award, for fundamental contributions to statistical science including transformational research in the areas of data depth, bootstrapping, confidence distributions, and fusion learning.

Anru Zhang receives the Noether Young Scholar Award, for breadth of research in statistical learning and high dimensional statistical inference, in particular, innovative and fundamental contributions to tensor data analysis, matrix recovery, and related optimization methods.

See for past recipients.