Royal Society’s Faraday Prize and Lecture

The UK’s Royal Society has selected Sir David Spiegelhalter OBE FRS as their Michael Faraday Prize and Lecture winner 2020, “for bringing key insights from the disciplines of statistics and probability vividly home to the public at large, and to key decision-makers, in entertaining and accessible ways, most recently through the COVID-19 pandemic.” Sir David will be awarded a medal and a gift of £2,500 at the associated prize lecture in 2021. The Michael Faraday Prize is awarded annually to the scientist or engineer whose expertise in communicating scientific ideas in lay terms is exemplary. The award is named after Michael Faraday FRS, the influential inventor and electrical pioneer who was prominent in the public communication of science and founded the Christmas lectures at the Royal Institution.

Fellow of the Royal Society

Elected a Fellow of the Royal Society this year is Wendelin Werner, one of the plenary speakers at the Bernoulli–IMS One World Symposium.