We are pleased to announce the winners of the IMS New Researcher Travel Awards and the IMS Hannan Travel Awards for 2020.

IMS New Researcher Travel Awards

The 2020 IMS New Researcher Awards fund travel, and possibly other expenses, to present a paper or a poster at an IMS sponsored or co-sponsored meeting for those who otherwise would not be able to attend the meeting. These 15 IMS members who are New Researchers are receiving the award this year (though their travel plans are mostly disrupted!):

  • Seungchul Baek,University of Maryland Baltimore County
  • Erik Bates, University of California, Berkeley
  • Thomas Berrett, CREST, ENSAE, Institut Polytechnique de Paris
  • Souvik Dhara, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Paromita Dubey, University of California, Davis
  • Chiara Franceschini, Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal
  • Jonathan Hermon, University of British Columbia
  • Hyunseung Kang, University of Wisconsin–Madison
  • Bikram Karmakar, University of Florida
  • Aya A. Mitani, Harvard T. H. Chan School of Public Health
  • Mohamed Ndaoud, University of Southern California
  • Jonathan Niles-Weed, New York University
  • Jiangyan Wang, Nanjing Audit University, China
  • Miaoyan Wang, University of Wisconsin–Madison
  • Tianying Wang, Columbia University

IMS Hannan Travel Awards

These are the 24 graduate student members who have been selected to receive an IMS Hannan Travel Award this year, so they can attend an IMS sponsored or co-sponsored meeting:

  • Chitrak Banerjee, Michigan State University
  • Zhanrui Cai, Penn State University
  • Yaqing Chen, University of California, Davis
  • Will A. Eagan, Purdue University
  • Len Garces, University of South Australia
  • Aritra Halder, University of Connecticut
  • Yinqiu He, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
  • Frankie Higgs, Lancaster University
  • Nianqiao (Phyllis) Ju, Harvard University
  • Kwangho Kim, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Myungjin Kim, Iowa State University
  • Bhumesh Kumar, University of Wisconsin–Madison
  • Gil Kur, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Jie Li, Tsinghua University
  • George Liddle, Lancaster University
  • Yan Liu, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Cong Ma, Princeton University
  • Mariya Mamajiwala, University College London
  • Rui Mao, University of Toronto
  • James Matuk, The Ohio State University
  • Seongoh Park, Seoul National University
  • Xiao Shen, University of Wisconsin–Madison
  • Yueying Wang, Iowa State University
  • Xiao Wu, Harvard University

See the August 2020 issue of the IMS Bulletin, which has photos of all the travel award winners on pages 2 and 3.