New Members elected to National Academy of Sciences

The US National Academy of Sciences (NAS) has announced the election of 120 members and 26 international members, in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Among them are three IMS Fellows: Gérard Ben Arous, professor of mathematics at the Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University, New York City; Yoav Benjamini, The Nathan and Lily Silver Professor of Applied Statistics in the School of Mathematical Sciences at Tel Aviv University, Israel; and Ofer Zeitouni, professor of mathematics at the Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, Israel. (Yoav Benjamini was elected as an international member.)

See the complete list at

…and to National Academy of Engineering

Meanwhile, the US National Academy of Engineering (NAE) also elected 87 new members and 18 international members. Among them is Sallie Ann Keller, division director for social and decision analytics and distinguished professor of biocomplexity and public health sciences at the University of Virginia, Charlottesville. Sallie was elected for development and application of engineering and statistical techniques in support of national security and industry. See the list at