In October 2019, the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) elected 443 of its members as AAAS Fellows. This designation reflects the Fellows’ efforts to advance science and its applications to better serve society. The Fellows collectively span the AAAS’s 24 different sections, and four IMS members and Fellows were honored as 2019 AAAS Fellows.

Thomas C.M. Lee (University of California, Davis) was elected to the Section on Engineering. Kavita Ramanan (Brown University) was elected to the Section on Mathematics. Kathryn Roeder (Carnegie Mellon University) and Jiming Jiang (University of California, Davis), were elected to the Section on Statistics.