Please consider nominating your outstanding colleagues and collaborators for these IMS awards.

A candidate for IMS Fellowship shall have demonstrated distinction in research in statistics or probability, by publication of independent work of merit. Candidates for fellowship should be members of IMS when nominated. You may like to read the advice of Philip Protter, a past Chair of the Committee on Fellows, on how to choose and nominate a Fellow. The Fellowship nomination deadline is January 31, 2020. For requirements, see

Nominations are invited for the Carver Medal, created by the IMS in honor of Harry C. Carver, for exceptional service specifically to the IMS. All nominations must be received by February 1, 2020. Please visit

IMS Awards for early-career researchers

The IMS Peter Gavin Hall Early-Career Prize recognizes early-career research accomplishments and research promise in statistics, broadly construed. Nominees for the inaugural 2020 prize should have received their doctoral degrees in 2012–2019. The IMS gives the award committee latitude to consider nominees with extenuating circumstances that may have delayed professional achievements. Nominations may be made by any member of the IMS, and nominees do not need to be IMS members. The nomination deadline is December 1, 2019. The inaugural award will be presented at the IMS Presidential Awards ceremony held at the IMS annual meeting, part of the 10th World Congress in Probability and Statistics (WC2020), jointly organized by the Bernoulli Society and IMS, hosted by Seoul National University from August 17–21, 2020. Electronic submission is required:

Richard Tweedie (1947–2001) played a significant role throughout his career as a mentor. The Tweedie New Researcher Award, created in his memory, provides funds for travel to present the Tweedie New Researcher Invited Lecture at the IMS New Researchers Conference. Nominate by December 1, 2019:

IMS Travel Awards: apply now for next year

Applications are open for two types of travel awards. The IMS Hannan Graduate Student Travel Award funds travel and registration to attend (and possibly present a paper/poster at) an IMS sponsored or co-sponsored meeting. This travel award is available to IMS members who are graduate students (seeking a Masters or PhD degree) studying some area of statistical science or probability. If you are a New Researcher (awarded your PhD in 2014–19) looking for travel funds, you should apply for the IMS New Researcher Travel Award to fund travel, and possibly other expenses, to present a paper or a poster at an IMS sponsored or co-sponsored meeting (not the IMS New Researcher’s Conference, that’s funded separately). Applicants for both these travel awards must be members of IMS, though joining at the time of application is allowed (student membership is free, and new graduate membership discounted!). The application deadline for both is February 1, 2020. See and


The Bernoulli Society for Mathematical Statistics and Probability welcomes nominations for the 2020 Wolfgang Doeblin Prize. The prize, which was founded in 2011 and is generously sponsored by Springer, is awarded every two years to an individual at the beginning of his or her mathematical career, for outstanding research in the field of probability theory. The awardee will be invited to submit to the journal Probability Theory and Related Fields a paper for publication as the Wolfgang Doeblin Prize Article, and will also be invited to present the Doeblin Prize Lecture at the 10th IMS–BS World Congress in Probability and Statistics (in Seoul, South Korea, on August 17-21, 2020), or at a later Conference on Stochastic Processes and their Applications. See
Each nomination should offer a brief but adequate case of support and should be sent by December 30, 2019, to the chair of the prize committee, Zhen-Qing Chen, at the e-mail address: with subject heading: Doeblin Prize 2020.


This annual award was established to honor Dr. Marvin Zelen’s long and distinguished career as a statistician and his major role in shaping the field of biostatistics. It recognizes an individual in government, industry, or academia, who by virtue of his/her outstanding leadership, has greatly impacted the theory and practice of statistical science.

Nominations are welcome for next year’s award, to be given in Spring 2020. The deadline is Monday, December 2, 2019.

Please see the instructions at