Nominations are invited for the following awards.

Emanuel and Carol Parzen Prize for Statistical Innovation

In order to promote the dissemination of statistical innovation, the Emanuel and Carol Parzen Prize for Statistical Innovation is awarded in even-numbered years to a North American statistician whose outstanding research contributions include innovations that have had impact on practice, and whose PhD degree is at least 25 years old.
The Parzen Prize is awarded by the Department of Statistics at Texas A&M University and is selected by the members of the Parzen Prize Committee (consisting of four internal faculty members and one external member). The prize consists of an honorarium of $1000 and travel to College Station, TX, to present a lecture at the Prize Ceremony.
Nominations for the 2020 Parzen Prize should include a letter describing the nominee’s outstanding contributions to high impact innovative research in statistics, a current curriculum vita, and two supporting letters. Nominations should be submitted by February 29, 2020 to Thomas Wehrly, the Chair of the 2020 Parzen Prize Committee, via e-mail to or to: Professor Thomas Wehrly, Department of Statistics, Texas A&M University, TAMU 3143, College Station Texas 77843-3143.

Nominate for an IMU Award, Prize or Special Lecture at ICM2022

The International Mathematical Union grants prestigious prizes for mathematical achievement, which are awarded every four years at the Opening Ceremony of the International Congress of Mathematicians (ICM). The next ICM will be held in St Petersburg, Russia, July 6–14, 2022 ( You can nominate an outstanding researcher for one of these prizes:
Fields Medal – recognizes outstanding mathematical achievement; it was first awarded in 1936.
Abacus Medal – honors distinguished achievements in mathematical aspects of information science, it will be awarded for the first time in 2022 (replacing the Rolf Nevanlinna Prize, which has been awarded since 1982).
Carl Friedrich Gauss Prize – awarded for outstanding mathematical contributions that have found significant applications outside of mathematics; it was first awarded in 2006.
Chern Medal Award – awarded to an individual whose accomplishments warrant the highest level of recognition for outstanding achievements in the field of mathematics; it was awarded for the first time in 2010.
Leelavati Prize – recognizes outstanding public outreach work for mathematics. The IMU has awarded this Prize since 2010, and since 2014 it has been sponsored by Infosys.
ICM Emmy Noether Lecture – honors women who have made fundamental and sustained contributions to the mathematical sciences; it was presented for the first time in 1994.
Nominations: To propose a person for one of the above IMU prizes, please send your nomination to the chair of the committee in charge of the selection of the winner(s). The Prize Committee Chairs 2022 are listed at Electronic nominations are encouraged. Please observe the specific Statutes for each prize (see the prizes’ webpages) before submitting a nomination and, in particular, explain the specific qualifications that make your nominee an excellent candidate for the prize you propose him/her for. Self-nominations are strongly discouraged.

CRM-Fields-PIMS Prize

The CRM-Fields-PIMS prize is the premier Canadian award for research achievements in the mathematical sciences. It is awarded jointly by the three Canadian mathematics institutes: Montreal’s Centre de recherches mathématiques (CRM), Toronto’s Fields Institute and Vancouver’s Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences (PIMS). The winner receives a monetary award and an invitation to present a lecture at each institute within one year after the award is announced. Nominations are invited for the CRM-Fields-PIMS prize, awarded in recognition of exceptional research achievement in the mathematical sciences. The candidate’s research should have been conducted primarily in Canada or in affiliation with a Canadian university. As part of our commitment to equality, we particularly encourage nominations of women and of members of underrepresented groups.
Nomination instructions are at
Deadline: November 1, 2019.

Three COPSS awards, to be presented next year at JSM in Philadelphia

Please visit for details of eligibility and nomination requirements for all three of these awards. Please send nominations, preferably by email in PDF format, to the committee chairs. The deadline for nominations for all three awards is December 15, 2019.
The Presidents’ Award is presented annually to a young member of one of the participating societies of COPSS in recognition of outstanding contributions to the statistics profession. It is typically granted to an individual who either (i) has not yet reached his or her 41st birthday during the calendar year of the award or (ii) will be under age 46 throughout the award calendar year and will have received a terminal statistically-related degree no more than 12 years prior to that year (see COPSS website for more details on eligibility criteria).
The Fisher Award and Lectureship, awarded annually, was established in 1963 by COPSS to honor the outstanding contributions of the late Sir Ronald Aylmer Fisher, and those of a current statistician, on aspects of statistics and probability that closely relate to the scientific collection and interpretation of data. The award exists to recognize the importance of statistical methods for scientific investigations.
The Elizabeth L. Scott Award and Lectureship is presented biennially (even-numbered years) to an individual, male or female, who has helped foster opportunities in statistics for women. The 2020 award winner will deliver the first E.L. Scott Lecture at the JSM in Philadelphia.

Breiman Senior Scholar and Junior Scholar Award Nominations

The Breiman Award Committee of the ASA Statistical Learning and Data Science (SLDS) Section, chaired by Professor David Madigan, invites nominations for the senior and junior awards in honor of Professor Leo Breiman (1928-2005). Breiman’s work helped to bridge the gap between statistics and computer science, particularly in the field of machine learning. His most important contributions were his work on classification and regression trees, ensemble estimators, and random forests.
The Breiman Award Committee selects the Breiman senior scholar and junior scholar based on outstanding theoretical or methodological contributions to machine learning and/or computational statistics, contributions which have made a substantial, sustained impact on the subject and on practical applications. Nominations are accepted in odd-numbered years.
The award includes a monetary prize, a plaque, and an invited lecture at JSM two years later.
The Breiman junior scholar must have received a doctoral degree no earlier than 2007, and been a SLDS section member at least for two years, as of December 15, 2019.
Nominations are due by December 15, 2019. A nomination packet including a nominating letter, up to three supporting letters (the nominator may also write one of the supporting letters), and curriculum vitae of the nominee should be sent to:
Breiman Award Committee Chair, David Madigan, Professor of Statistics, Columbia University,