Professor Donald Rubin delivered the S.N. Roy Memorial Lecture at the Tenth Calcutta Triennial Symposium, December 27-30, 2018. Meeting organizer Partha Lahiri writes:

Professor Donald Rubin delivered the 15th S.N Roy Memorial lecture entitled “Conditional Calibration and the Sage Statistician,” on December 27, 2018, at the Tenth International Triennial Symposium, held at Calcutta University. Professor Rubin is a member of the US National Academy of Sciences and an IMS Fellow, and has received numerous other honors and awards. He is currently a professor at the Yau Mathematical Sciences Center, Tsinghua University, a Murray Shusterman Senior Research Fellow at the Fox School of Business, and a Professor Emeritus at Harvard University.

The Department of Statistics, University of Calcutta, India, established in 1941, with Professor P.C. Mahalanobis as head, is the oldest Department in Asia offering a master’s degree in Statistics. Professor Samarendra Nath Roy (1906–1964), who served as the acting head of the department during 1947–48, was a distinguished alumnus of the department. Professor Roy pioneered research in multivariate analysis. He introduced the ingenious concept of the union-intersection principle, which has been widely used in multivariate analysis. Professor Roy moved to the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 1950, where he supervised the dissertations of 15 doctoral students, with Professor Ingram Olkin being his first PhD student there. Mudhokar et al. (2007, wrote an article on the life and work of Professor Roy.

In 1966, the Department of Statistics, Calcutta University started a distinguished lecture series in honor of Professor S.N. Roy. The first S.N. Roy Memorial lecture was delivered by Professor R.C. Bose. Since then, S.N. Roy Memorial lectures have been delivered by: P. V. Sukhatme (1974), Harald Cramér (1977), P.K. Sen (1979), L. Pasinetti (1980), R.R. Bahadur (1981), T.W. Anderson (1985), Sir David Cox (1997), Y. Fujikoshi (2000), Malay Ghosh (2003), J.S. Marron (2004), Marianne Frisen (2009), Peter Hall (2012), and Danny Pfeffermann (2015).