SPECIAL NOTE: This conference has been postponed to 2021 please also join us for the Bernoulli-IMS One World Symposium 2020, August 24-28, 2020.


The named lecturers for the 2020 Bernoulli–IMS World Congress in Probability and Statistics (August 17–21, 2020, at Seoul National University, Seoul, Korea) have been announced. The IMS Lectures are as follows: the Wald Lecturer will be Martin Barlow; the Blackwell Lecture will be given by Gábor Lugosi, and the five IMS Medallion Lectures will be given by Gérard Ben Arous, Andrea Montanari, Elchanan Mossel, Laurent Saloff-Coste and Daniela Witten. The IMS Presidential Address will be given by Susan Murphy. There are two named IMS/BS Lectures: the Doob Lecture, which will be given by Nicolas Curien, and the Schramm Lecture, given by Omer Angel.

For the Bernoulli Society’s lectures, Persi Diaconis will give the Kolmogorov Lecture, Alison Etheridge the Bernoulli Lecture, Massimilliano Gubinelli the Lévy Lecture, Tony Cai the Laplace Lecture and Sara van der Geer will give the Tukey Lecture.

Hee-Seok Oh is chair of the Local Organizing Committee. He says, “Seoul National University will have the distinguished privilege of hosting WC2020, and we are expecting to attract more than 900 experts from over 40 countries. Held every four years, the congress is a worldwide event covering all branches of statistics and probability. This includes the latest scientific breakthroughs in theoretical, methodological, applied and computational statistics and probability, as well as stochastic processes.”

He describes Seoul as “a bewitching mix of ancient and modern structures, packaged in a surprisingly compact metropolis that has earned it the designation of a UNESCO City of Design. The nation’s capital has a cutting-edge cityscape of glass, steel and futuristic skyscrapers, which tower over traditional wooden houses with tiled roofs and mazes of cobbled alleys in distinct, village-like districts.”

The website for the 10th World Congress is http://www.wc2020.org. We hope to see you there next year!