The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) has awarded the distinction of Fellow to 396 of its members for 2017 in recognition of their contributions to science and technology, scientific leadership and extraordinary achievements across disciplines.

In the AAAS Section on Statistics were five IMS members and Fellows. Congratulations to Nicholas Jon Horton, Amherst College; Eric D. Kolaczyk, Boston University; Hongzhe Li, University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine; Runze Li, Pennsylvania State University; and Douglas G. Simpson, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

The AAAS Fellows Rosette

The new AAAS Fellows will be recognized on February 17, 2018, during the Fellows Forum at the 2018 AAAS Annual Meeting in Austin, Texas. At the forum, the new Fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a unique rosette pin, the emblem of Fellowship. The gold and blue colors of the AAAS Fellows’ rosette signify science and engineering, respectively.

See the full list at the American Association for the Advancement of Science website here.