James L. Rosenberger (left) presenting the 2017 C.R. and Bhargavi Rao Prize to Donald B. Rubin

The Penn State Department of Statistics held the 2017 Rao Prize Conference on May 12, 2017, and honored three outstanding prize recipients (and IMS members). Donald B. Rubin, the John L. Loeb Professor of Statistics at Harvard University, received the 2017 C.R. and Bhargavi Rao Prize (pictured above). The 2017 C. G. Khatri Lecturer was Paul R. Rosenbaum, the Robert G. Putzel Professor of Statistics at the Wharton School; and the 2017 P. R. Krishnaiah Lecturer was Satish Iyengar, who is Professor of Statistics at the University of Pittsburgh.

IMS Fellow Donald B. Rubin is one of the most highly cited authors in the world in mathematics and economics. He is an elected Fellow/Member/Honorary Member of: the Woodrow Wilson Society, John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation, Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, American Statistical Association, IMS, International Statistical Institute, American Association for the Advancement of Science, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, European Association of Methodology, British Academy, and the US National Academy of Sciences. Rubin received the Samuel S. Wilks Medal from the American Statistical Association, the Parzen Prize for Statistical Innovation, the Fisher Lectureship, and the COPSS George W. Snedecor Award.

A report of the conference is here.