We are delighted to introduce the newest members of IMS Council. The next President-Elect is Xiao-Li Meng, and the six new members of Council are: Mathias Drton, Peter Hoff, Greg Lawler, Antonietta Mira, Axel Munk and Byeong Park. All of these will serve a three-year term starting in August, apart from Mathias Drton, who will serve a two-year term.

Mathias, Peter, Greg, Antonietta, Axel and Byeong will be joining Andreas Buja, Gerda Claeskens, Nancy Heckman, Kavita Ramanan and Ming Yuan (whose terms end August 2018); and Jean Bertoin, Song Xi Chen, Elizaveta Levina and Simon Tavaré (whose terms run through July 2019). Cun-Hui Zhang, who became Statistical Science Editor in January, still serves on Council (see below); his vacant position as an elected member is filled by Mathias Drton.

In addition to these elected members, IMS Council is made up of the Executive Committee and the Editors, who serve ex officio. The Executive Committee will, from August, comprise:

President: Alison Etheridge

Past President: Jon Wellner

President-elect: Xiao-Li Meng

Treasurer: Zhengjun Zhang

Program Secretary: Judith Rousseau

Executive Secretary: Edsel A. Peña

Richard Davis, outgoing past-president, will be leaving the Executive Committee after three years’ service. Aurore Delaigle will be stepping down after six years as Executive Secretary, replaced by Edsel Peña.

The Editors are Bálint Tóth (Annals of Applied Probability); Maria Eulalia Vares (Annals of Probability); Tilmann Gneiting (Annals of Applied Statistics); Ed George and Tailen Hsing (Annals of Statistics); Cun-Hui Zhang (Statistical Science); and Vlada Limic (IMS Bulletin). T.N. Sriram is Managing Editor for Statistics & Probability. Maria Eulalia Vares will be stepping down as Editor of the Annals of Probability at the end of this year, and Amir Dembo will be taking on this role from next January.

The elected members who are leaving Council this year are Peter Bühlmann, Florentina Bunea, Geoffrey Grimmett, Aad van der Vaart and Naisyin Wang. Thanks to all the outgoing officers, editors and council members for their dedicated service to our institute. Thanks, too, to all the candidates, and all who voted!