The ASA awarded several prizes at the Joint Statistical Meetings in Chicago this year—and there are lots of IMS members and Fellows among them!

ASA Founders: James L. Rosenberger received an ASA Founders Award, along with John L. Czajka, Rod Little and Maura Stokes.

ASA Fellows: Among the 65 new ASA Fellows are: Alexander Aue, Veerabhadran Baladandayuthapani, Karl W. Broman, Peter Bühlmann, Ding-Geng Chen, Peter F. Craigmile, Wayne Stuart DeSarbo, Jan Hannig, Murali Haran, Hsin-Cheng Huang, Galin Jones, Liza Levina, Qi Long, Van L. Parsons, Luis Raul Pericchi Guerra, Ingo Ruczinski and Chunming Zhang.

Samuel S. Wilks Memorial Award: This award honors the memory and distinguished career of Sam Wilks by recognizing outstanding contributions to statisticians who carry on the spirit of his work. The 2016 honoree is David Donoho.

Gottfried E. Noether Awards: The Noether Senior Scholar Award was given to Jane-Ling Wang. The 2016 Noether Young Researcher Award honoree is Han Liu.

Outstanding Statistical Application Award: Each year, the ASA recognizes the author(s) of a paper that is an outstanding application of statistics in the physical, biological, or medical sciences. The 2016 honorees are Edoardo M. Airoldi and Jonathan M. Bischof of Harvard University. They were recognized for their novel development of a scalable topic modeling framework in their 2015 JASA paper, “A Regularization Scheme on Word Occurrence Rates That Improves Estimation and Interpretation of Topical Content.”

Wray Jackson Smith Scholarship: The ASA’s Government Statistics Section and Social Statistics Section presented this scholarship to Maria Cuellar of Carnegie Mellon University.

Statistics in Physical Engineering Sciences Award: This award recognizes outstanding collaborative endeavors between statisticians and scientists throughout the physical and engineering sciences. The honoree is Dennis K.J. Lin of Penn State University.

Mentoring Award: Fritz J. Scheuren, of NORC at the University of Chicago, received one of the 2016 Mentoring Awards for providing significant early-career support to statistics students, statisticians, or statistical researchers.

See the full list at