The C.R. and Bhargavi Rao Prize for Outstanding Research in Statistics was established to honor and recognize outstanding and influential innovations in the theory and practice of mathematical statistics, international leadership in directing statistical research, and pioneering contributions by a recognized leader in the field of statistics. The Rao Prize is awarded by the Department of Statistics at Penn State University to a nominee selected by the members of the Rao Prize Committee. C.R. Rao, Emeritus Professor of Statistics at Penn State, held the Eberly Chair in Statistics at Penn State from 1988 to 2001.

Previous Rao Prize recipients are: Bradley Efron, Jayaram Sethuraman, Lawrence D. Brown, Peter J. Bickel, James O. Berger, Herman Chernoff and Sir David Cox.

For additional information, see

Nominations for the 2017 Rao Prize should be submitted by December 31, 2016 by email to or by regular mail to: Chair, Rao Prize Selection Committee, 326 Thomas Building, Penn State University, University Park, PA 16802-2111.

The Rao Prize shall be awarded in odd numbered years. The award recipient will receive a medal, a cash prize, and an invitation to visit Penn State and give a talk as part of a day-long workshop.

Nominations should include a letter describing the nominee’s outstanding contributions to leadership and research in statistics, a current curriculum vita, and two supporting letters.