The US National Academy of Sciences (NAS) has announced the 2016 election of 84 new members and 21 foreign associates from 14 countries in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Among them are five IMS Fellows. We congratulate:
Steven N. Evans, professor of statistics and mathematics at the University of California, Berkeley
Susan A. Murphy, Herbert E. Robbins Distinguished University Professor of Statistics in the Department of Statistics, and research professor in the Institute for Social Research, at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Larry A. Wasserman, professor in the department of statistics at Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh
Yuval Peres, principal researcher in theory group, Microsoft Research (citizenship: Israel)
Nancy M. Reid, Canada Research Chair and University Professor in the department of statistics at the University of Toronto
(citizenship: Canada)
(Yuval and Nancy were elected to the National Academy of Sciences as Foreign Associates.)
The full list of those elected is on the NAS website at