2015 AAAS Fellows

In October 2015, the Council of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) elected 347 members as Fellows. Among this list are eight IMS members. These individuals will be recognized for their contributions to science and technology at the Fellows Forum to be held on 13 February 2016 during the AAAS Annual Meeting in Washington DC. The honor of being elected an AAAS Fellow began in 1874 for members whose “efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished.” You can read the complete list at http://www.aaas.org/elected-fellows, presented by section affiliation.

One of those elected in the AAAS Section on Engineering was Donald P. Gaver III, Tulane University. In the Section on Statistics there were seven IMS members: Michael Paul Cohen, American Institutes for Research; Patricia A. Jacobs, Naval Postgraduate School; Alan F. Karr, RTI International; Stephen Portnoy, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; James Matthew Robins, Harvard University; Chih-Ling Tsai, University of California, Davis; and Alyson G. Wilson, North Carolina State University.


Judith Rousseau receives Ethel Newbold Prize

The first Ethel Newbold Prize was awarded to Judith Rousseau at the ISI World Statistics Congress 2015 in Rio de Janeiro. The Bernoulli Society established the Newbold Prize to recognize excellence in statistics; awarded every two years, the €2500 prize is supported by Wiley. Judith has been invited to present a talk at the IMS/BS Ninth World Congress on Probability and Statistics in Toronto, July 11–15, 2016. Read more about the prize at http://www.bernoullisociety.org/index.php/prizes?id=207


ISI Elected Members 2015

The International Statistical Institute (ISI) elects individuals into its membership who have made significant contributions to statistics in one or more areas, including: research, applications, statistical practice, statistical education, development of statistical infrastructure, management of statistical services, statistical capacity building, and professional leadership.

Among this year’s Elected Members are the following 18 IMS members and Fellows:

Probal Chaudhuri, India; Radu Craiu, Canada; Byron J. Gajewski, USA; Jianhua Huang, USA; Nicholas Jewell, USA; Jiming Jiang, USA; Abba Meyer Krieger, USA; Qi Long, USA; Michael T. Longnecker, USA; Wenbin Lu, USA; Guy Philip Nason, UK; Sonja Petrović, Serbia/USA; Natesh Pillai, India; Bruce David Spencer, USA; David Spiegelhalter, UK; Ajit Tamhane, USA; David Alan Stephens, UK; and Glenn Stone, Australia.