Trevor Hastie awarded Parzen Prize

The 2014 Emanuel and Carol Parzen Prize for Statistical Innovation was awarded to Trevor J. Hastie, John A. Overdeck Professor of Mathematical Sciences, Stanford University, on November 6. He presented a lecture titled “Sparse Linear Models.” The award was for “pioneering, influential, and outstanding research in statistical methodology and computational methods for statistics, including principle curves, generalized additive models, object-based computations for statistical models in S and R, least angle regression, graphical lasso, the elastic net for variable selection, and many other contributions to statistical methods; leadership in developing computational methods at the interface of computer science and statistics for the analysis of large data sets and for statistical learning.”


David F. Anderson Awarded Inaugural IMA Prize in Mathematics and its Applications

The Institute for Mathematics and its Applications (IMA) has awarded David F. Anderson, assistant professor in the Department of Mathematics at the University of Wisconsin–Madison, the inaugural IMA Prize in Mathematics and its Applications. The prize was awarded at the opening of the fourth annual Abel Conference on October 31, 2014.  David said, on hearing about the award, “I was shocked and happy. It is an honor to be recognized by your peers, and I am truly grateful.” David received this recognition for his contributions to numerical methods for stochastic models in biology and to the mathematical theory of biological interaction networks. His work on numerical methods, in particular how to utilize different mathematical representations to construct and analyze numerical schemes, is changing the landscape of computational systems biology. Read more about David Anderson and the prize here.


Kathryn Chaloner, 1954–2014

Kathryn Chaloner, professor and head of the University of Iowa Department of Biostatistics, died October 19 after a long battle with cancer. Dean Sue Curry said, “The courage and determination that Kathryn demonstrated throughout her illness also defined her as a distinguished leader, researcher, colleague, mentor, and friend.” She added, “Perhaps Kathryn’s most lasting legacy … will be her dedication to the twin principles of mentorship and diversity. Kathryn was a passionate advocate for women, junior faculty, and students.”
Read a tribute by Richard Smith and Snehalata Huzurbazar on the SAMSI blog. An obituary will follow soon.


ASA awards for IMS members

At the 2014 Joint Statistical Meetings in Boston, the American Statistical Association presented several awards. Among the recipients were Raymond J. Carroll, Frank E. Harrell Jr., Arnab Maity, Christopher S. McMahan, Sastry G. Pantula, Madan L. Puri, and Joshua M. Tebbs.
You can read more about the awards and recipients here.


Editors’ terms extended for IMS Monographs and IMS Textbooks

The IMS Committee to Select Editors has staggered the terms of the IMS Monographs and IMS Textbooks editorial board as follows: Susan Holmes is now Algorithms Editor until the end of 2015; David Cox is Coordinating Editor through the end of 2016; Ben Hambly is Probability Editor to the end of 2017. Jon Wellner is to become the new Statistics Editor for four years (January 1, 2015–December 31, 2018). See