The Bernoulli Society recently approved the establishment of the Ethel Newbold Prize for excellence in statistics, to be awarded every two years beginning in 2015. The name of the prize recognizes a historically important role of women in statistics. The prize itself is for excellence in statistics without reference to the gender of the recipient. The Ethel Newbold Prize is generously supported by Wiley.

The Ethel Newbold Prize is to be awarded to an outstanding statistical scientist for a body of work that represents excellence in research in mathematical statistics, and/or excellence in research that links developments in a substantive field to new advances in statistics.

In any year in which the award is due, the prize will not be awarded unless the set of all nominations includes candidates from both genders.

The award consists of the prize amount of €2500, together with an award certificate.

For this call, the prize winner will be selected in spring 2015. The prize will be awarded at the World Statistics Congress in Rio de Janeiro and the awardee will be invited to present a talk at the IMS/Bernoulli Society Ninth World Congress on Probability and Statistics in Toronto, July 11–15, 2016.

Further information about the Ethel Newbold Prize may be found on the Bernoulli Society website.

Submission of nominations

Each nomination should include a letter outlining the case in support of the nominee, along with a curriculum vitae. Nominations, as well as any inquiries about the award, should be sent to Oddbjorg Wethelund, Department of Mathematics, Aarhus University,

The deadline for accepting nominations is November 30, 2014.

About Ethel Newbold

Ethel May Newbold (1882–1933) was an English statistician and the first woman to be awarded the Guy Medal in Silver by the Royal Statistical Society, in 1928. A detailed biography of Ethel Newbold may be found in her obituary: Greenwood, M. (1933). Ethel May Newbold. Journal of the Royal Statistical Society, 96, No. 2 (1933), 354–357.

The Newbold Prize Committee

The Committee members are Eva B. Vedel Jensen (chair), Claudia Klüppelberg and Jon Wellner.