The United States National Academy of Sciences announced on April 29, 2014, the election of 84 new members, and 21 foreign associates from 15 countries, in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

[Left-right: Bin Yu, Emery Brown, Emmanuel Candès]

Among those elected is IMS President and Fellow Bin Yu, who is Chancellor’s Professor in the departments of statistics and of electrical engineering and computer science, at the University of California, Berkeley. Also elected are IMS members Emery N. Brown, Warren M. Zapol Professor of Anaesthesia at Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston, and Emmanuel J. Candès, Barnum-Simons Professor of Mathematics and Statistics at Stanford University.

Those elected this year bring the total number of active members to 2,214 and the total number of foreign associates to 444. Foreign associates are nonvoting members of the Academy, with citizenship outside the United States.

The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit institution that was established under a congressional charter signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. It recognizes achievement in science by election to membership, and—with the National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, and National Research Council—provides science, technology, and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations.

The full list of new NAS Members and Associates is here.