Featuring news items about Terry Lyons, Nat Schenker, James L Rosenberger, Marie Davidian, Robert N. Rodriguez, Adrian Smith.


Schramm Lecturer for 2014: Terry Lyons

We are pleased to announce the 2014 Schramm Lecturer will be Terry Lyons.

Terry is the Wallis Professor of Mathematics at Oxford University, UK. He has been awarded the Rollo Davidson prize and the Pólya Prize. He is a Fellow of the IMS and the Royal Society.

The citation for the lecturer is, “Terry Lyons has made multiple deep contributions to stochastic analysis. In particular, he created, and further developed with his collaborators, the “rough path theory,” which provided both a new heuristic understanding of stochastic integrals and an effective mathematical tool.”

Terry’s lecture will be at the 2014 IMS Annual Meeting, which will take place in Sydney, Australia, from July 7–11, 2014.

As previously announced, Itai Benjamini is the inaugural Schramm Lecturer in 2013. His lecture will be at the 36th Conference on Stochastic Processes and their Applications (July 29 – August 2, 2013, in Boulder, Colorado); see http://math.colorado.edu/spa2013/

Oded Schramm (1961–2008) was an extraordinary mathematician whose life was cut short in a tragic hiking accident. IMS and the Bernoulli Society cooperated to create this new joint lecture in probability and stochastic processes, named in his honor. For further information see http://imstat.org/Schramm/. Contributions to the fund that supports the travel expenses of the Schramm lecturer are welcome. To contribute, please go to https://secure.imstat.org/secure/orders/schrammcontribution.asp


American Statistical Association elections

Nathaniel Schenker (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) will be the new ASA President-Elect in 2013 (serving as President in 2014). James L. Rosenberger (Pennsylvania State University) is the newly-elected ASA Vice President, and will serve from 2013 to 2015. Marie Davidian (North Carolina State University) will be ASA President in 2013; Robert N. Rodriguez (SAS) is the current ASA President.

Full results are at http://magazine.amstat.org/blog/2012/07/01/eresult-2013/


Adrian Smith appointed to UK Statistics Authority

The UK Statistics Authority has appointed Professor Sir Adrian Smith FRS as one of its Deputy Chairs, with responsibility for the governance of the Office for National Statistics. Sir Adrian succeeded Lord Rowe-Beddoe of Kilgetty in the post. Sir Adrian, who was knighted last year, was previously a member of the Authority Board until his appointment to a senior role in the Civil Service in 2008. He now takes up the post of Vice-Chancellor of the University of London. The UK Statistics Authority is an independent body operating at arm’s length from government as a non-ministerial department. Its two main functions are oversight of the Office for National Statistics (ONS) and independent scrutiny of all official statistics produced in the UK.