Each year the IMS makes awards in the following categories:

Tweedie New Researcher Award

Richard L. Tweedie played a significant role throughout his professional career in mentoring young colleagues at work and through professional society activities. With funds donated by his friends and family, the IMS created the “Tweedie New Researcher Award” to finance the winner to present the “Tweedie New Researcher Invited Lecture” at the IMS New Researchers Conference. Next year’s conference will be held in Montreal, immediately before JSM 2013 (details of the New Researchers Conference will be announced soon).

To be eligible for the 2013 award, the new researcher must have received their doctoral degree in 2007–2012, and the nominee should be a member of the IMS at time of nomination.

The nomination deadline is December 1, 2012.

For details and requirements of the nomination process, please visit http://www.imstat.org/awards/tweedie.html


IMS Fellowship

The candidate for IMS Fellowship shall have demonstrated distinction in research in statistics or probability, by publication of independent work of merit. This qualification may be waived in the case of:
(1)     a candidate of well-established leadership whose contributions to the field of statistics or probability other than original research shall be judged of equal value; or
(2)     a candidate of well-established leadership in the application of statistics or probability, whose work has contributed greatly to the utility of and the appreciation of these areas.

Candidates for Fellowship should be members of IMS on December 1 of the year preceding their nomination, and should have been members of the IMS for at least two years.

All nominations must be received by January 31, 2013.

For details and requirements of the nomination process, please visit http://www.imstat.org/awards/fellows.htm



Laha Travel Award

With funds from a generous bequest by the late Professor Radha Govind Laha, IMS established the Laha Awards to provide funds for students and new researchers to travel to present a paper at the IMS Annual Meeting (see the article here for comments from some of this year’s recipients).

The 2013 award will provide funds for travel to the Joint Statistical Meetings (JSM) in Montreal, Canada, from August 3–8, 2013.

In selecting these awards, first priority is given to students, second priority to New Researchers within 2 years of PhD degree at the date of the meeting. Applicants must be members of IMS, though joining at the time of application is allowed. And don’t forget that student membership is free (see http://www.imstat.org/membership/student.htm for details) and New Researchers also qualify for substantially reduced rates. To become a member, please see http://www.imstat.org/orders/

Application deadline is February 1, 2013.

For more information on the application process, please visit http://www.imstat.org/awards/laha.html


Harry C. Carver Medal

Nominations are invited for the Carver Medal, created by the IMS in honor of Harry C. Carver, founding editor of The Annals of Mathematical Statistics and one of the founders of the IMS. The medal is for exceptional service specifically to the IMS and is open to any member of the IMS who has not previously been elected President. The medal will be awarded at a ceremony during the next IMS Annual Meeting. (Last year’s winner, Peter Jagers, was not able to come to the World Congress to receive his medal, so his will be awarded next year along with the 2013 medal.)

All nominations must be received by February 1, 2013.

Please visit http://www.imstat.org/awards/carver.html