L. Adrienne Cupples Award for Excellence in Teaching, Research, and Service in Biostatistics

This annual award by Boston University School of Public Health, Department of Biostatistics, recognizes a biostatistician whose academic achievements reflect the contributions to teaching, research, and service exemplified by Professor L. Adrienne Cupples. Dr. Cupples joined the faculty at the Boston University School of Public Health (BUSPH) in 1981 and later served as founding Chair of the Department of Biostatistics and Co-Executive Director of the Graduate Program in Biostatistics. During her tenure at BUSPH, she has advanced the field of biostatistics through extensive publications in major journals and book chapters on collaborative and methodological research, development and effective teaching of a wide range of biostatistics courses, and mentorship of numerous graduate students and faculty.
Eligibility and Nominations
To be eligible, the nominee must be an internationally recognized statistician/biostatistician who has made significant contributions to the statistical sciences through teaching, research, and service; and is willing to deliver a lecture at the award ceremony in the Department of Biostatistics at Boston University on April 4th, 2013.
Nominations should include the nominee’s name and contact information, rationale for the nomination not exceeding two pages in length, and the nominee’s curriculum vitae. Nominations may be made by faculty, collaborators, students, or staff working with or familiar with the work of the nominee. Nominations will be accepted through November 15, 2012 and the winner will be notified by December 1.
Please send nominations via e-mail to Lisa M. Sullivan, PhD, Associate Dean for Education, Professor and Chair, Department of Biostatistics e lsull@bu.edu
Selection Criteria
Criteria for the award include, but are not limited to, excellence in the following areas:

• Biostatistics education (teaching, curriculum design, course development)

• Collaborative or methodological biostatistical research

• Service to the profession

• Student and faculty mentoring

Award Selection Committee
The Award Selection Committee will be comprised of eight members, six members of the faculty of the Boston University Department of Biostatistics representing varying areas of expertise and faculty rank and two student members currently enrolled in the graduate program in Biostatistics at Boston University.

Winners of the award will receive a $1000 honorarium, and all expenses to attend and present at the Boston University Department of Biostatistics at an Annual Award Day, generally held on the first Thursday in April. Faculty, staff and students interested in biostatistics from the Boston area will be invited to the presentation given by the Cupples Award recipient.


Alice T. Schafer Mathematics Prize for Excellence in Math by an Undergraduate Woman

Nomination deadline: October 1, 2012
The Executive Committee of the Association for Women in Mathematics (AWM) calls for nominations for the Alice T. Schafer Mathematics Prize to be awarded to an undergraduate woman for excellence in mathematics. The nominee may be at any level in her undergraduate career but must be an undergraduate as of October 1, 2012. She must either be a US citizen or have a school address in the United States. The Schafer Prize is named for former AWM president and one of its founding members, Alice T. Schafer, who contributed a great deal to women in mathematics throughout her career. The 2013 Schafer Prize will be awarded at the Joint Prize Session at the Joint Mathematics Meetings in San Diego, CA, January 2013.

The letters of nomination should include, but is not limited to, an evaluation of the nominee on the following criteria: quality of performance in advanced mathematics courses and special programs; demonstration of real interest in mathematics; ability for independent work in mathematics; performance in mathematical competitions at the local or national level, if any. With the letter of nomination, please include a copy of transcripts and indicate undergraduate level. Additional supporting materials (e.g., reports from summer work using math, copies of talks given, recommendation letters from professors, colleagues, etc.) should be included with the nomination, if applicable. Nominations should be submitted as ONE PDF file via MathPrograms.org at https://www.mathprograms.org/db/programs/138 with a copy of transcripts included at the end of the file. Questions? Email awm@awm-math.org.


Marvin Zelen Leadership Award in Statistical Science

The Department of Biostatistics at the Harvard School of Public Health named Nicholas P. Jewell, PhD, as the recipient of the 2012 Marvin Zelen Leadership Award in Statistical Science. Dr. Jewell, University of California, Berkeley, delivered a lecture entitled “Counting Civilian Casualties” on June 1 at Harvard University. This annual award, supported by colleagues, friends and family, was established to honor Dr. Marvin Zelen’s long and distinguished career as a statistician and his major role in shaping the field of biostatistics.

The award recognizes an individual in government, industry, or academia, who by virtue of his/her outstanding leadership has greatly impacted the theory and practice of statistical science. While individual accomplishments are considered, the most distinguishing criterion is the awardees contribution to the creation of an environment in which statistical science and its applications have flourished. The award recipient will deliver a public lecture on statistical science at the Harvard School of Public Health and will be presented with a citation and an honorarium.

Nominations for next year’s award, to be given in May/June 2013, should be sent to the Marvin Zelen Leadership Award Committee, Department of Biostatistics,
Harvard School of Public Health, 655 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02115 or via email to vbeaulie@hsph.harvard.edu.
Nominations should include a letter describing the contributions of the candidate, specifically highlighting the criteria for the award, and a curriculum vitae. Supporting letters and materials would be extremely helpful to the committee. All nominations must be received by December 1, 2012.