Nominations for IMU Awards in 2014

The President of the International Mathematical Union, Ingrid Daubechies, has written to the Adhering Organizations, asking them to submit nominations for the IMU awards listed below.

Fields Medals
The Fields Medals are awarded every 4 years on the occasion of the International Congress of Mathematicians to recognize outstanding mathematical achievement for existing work and for the promise of future achievement.

Rolf Nevanlinna Prize
The Nevanlinna Prize is awarded once every 4 years at the International Congress of Mathematicians, for outstanding contributions in mathematical aspects of information sciences.

Carl Friedrich Gauss Prize
The Gauss Prize is awarded once every 4 years to honor a scientist whose mathematical research has had an impact outside mathematics: in technology, in business, or simply in people’s everyday lives.

Chern Medal Award
The Chern Medal is awarded every 4 years on the occasion of the International Congress of Mathematicians to an individual whose accomplishments warrant the highest level of recognition for outstanding achievements in the field of mathematics.

Leelavati Prize
The Leelavati Prize, sponsored by Infosys is intended to accord high recognition and great appreciation of the IMU and Infosys of outstanding contributions for increasing public awareness of mathematics as an intellectual discipline and the crucial role it plays in diverse human endeavors.

ICM 2014 Emmy Noether Lecture
The ICM Emmy Noether lecture is a special lecture at an ICM which honors women who have made fundamental and sustained contributions to the mathematical sciences.

More details about each of these awards and the Noether lecture, as well as lists of past laureates, can be found on the IMU Web site, at Deadline for all IMU award nominations: December 31, 2012

Melissa Begg, Vice Dean of Education at Columbia University, to Receive Inaugural Lagakos Distinguished Alumni Award

Dr. Melissa D. Begg will be the first recipient of the newly established Lagakos Distinguished Alumni Award. Dr. Begg will deliver a lecture and be presented with the inaugural award on Friday, September 28, 2012, preceding the kickoff of the 2012 HSPH Alumni Weekend.

This award honors the career of the late Professor Stephen Lagakos by recognizing Department alumni whose research in statistical theory and application, leadership in biomedical research, and commitment to teaching have had a major impact on the theory and practice of statistical science.

Dr. Begg graduated from the Department of Biostatistics at Harvard in 1989, and currently serves as Professor of Clinical Biostatistics and Vice Dean of Education at the Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health. Dr. Begg is also the Co-Director of the Irving Institute for Clinical and Translational Research. The award recognizes Dr. Begg’s accomplishments in education, scientific collaboration, and statistical methodology as well as her leadership role in academic administration.

The lecture and award ceremony will take place on September 28, 2012 at 3:00pm in FXB G12 at HSPH, with a reception to follow. All are invited. Alumni are also encouraged to stay for the kickoff of the HSPH Alumni Weekend 2012: Women and Health, directly following the lecture. To find out more, please visit

Abel, Fields, and Turing Laureates meet the next generation

The International Mathematical Union announces that starting in September 2013 the Heidelberg Laureate Forum will bring together winners of the Abel Prize, the Fields Medal, and the Turing Award with young scientists from all over the world. On the occasion of the 10th Abel Prize Ceremony the agreement on collaborating in the Heidelberg Laureate Forum between the Klaus Tschira Stiftung who establishes this Forum and the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, the International Mathematical Union, and the Association for Computing Machinery who grant the prestigious Abel Prize, Fields Medal, and Turing Award respectively, was signed in Oslo on May 22, 2012.
Read more about this event on the IMU website:

SPA 2014 Location Announced

The 37th Conference on Stochastic Processes and Applications (SPA) will take place in Buenos Aires during the week July 28 to August 1, 2014. Website to be announced.