Thanks to a generous bequest from the late Professor Radha Govind Laha, IMS established the Laha Awards to provide funds for travel to present a paper at the IMS Annual Meeting (this year, at the eighth World Congress in Probability and Statistics, in Istanbul, Turkey, from July 9–14). This year the IMS Committee on Travel Awards has selected 13 people whose travel to Istanbul will be supported.

If you’re going to the World Congress, do go and introduce yourself! The Laha Awards will be presented in the awards ceremony at the IMS Presidential Address session at 2:00pm on Wednesday July 11: all attendees will be welcome at this and the reception immediately afterwards.

The winners are:
Yuval Benjamini, UC Berkeley, USA
Karthik Bharath, University of Connecticut, USA
Jinyuan Chang, Peking University, China
Yining Chen, University of Cambridge, UK
Diego Colombo, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
Shuping Jiang, Oregon State University, USA
Michael Kelly, University of California, San Diego, USA
Miles Lopes, UC Berkeley, USA
Gourab Mukherjee, Stanford University, USA
Dan Shen, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA
Alisa Stephens, Harvard University, USA
Ruodu Wang, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
Wenxin Zhou, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, China