US National Academy of Engineering elects members
The United States National Academy of Engineering has announced its new members for 2012. Congratulations to IMS members Peter W. Glynn (Thomas W. Ford Professor and chair, management science and engineering department, Stanford University) and Michael S. Waterman (University Professor, USC Associates Chair in Natural Sciences, and professor of biological sciences, computer science, and mathematics, College of Letters, Arts, and Sciences, University of Southern California, Los Angeles). Peter was selected for “contributions to simulation methodology and stochastic modeling,” and Michael for “development of computational methods for DNA and protein sequence analyses.” The full list of members is at

American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellows
The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) has elected 539 Fellows for their contributions to science and technology. Among them were several IMS Fellows and/or members.
In the Section on Mathematics was Claudia Neuhauser, University of Minnesota Rochester, and in the Section on Statistics were: George Casella, University of Florida; Dipak K. Dey, University of Connecticut; Wing Kam Fung, University of Hong Kong; Sastry G. Pantula, National Science Foundation; and Xiaotong Shen, University of Minnesota.

Elected members of ISI
The International Statistical Institute elected 17 new members in the third round of 2011, among whom were five IMS members: Jiti Gao, Stefano Iacus, Ranjan Maitra, Axel Munk, and Haiyan Wang. The list is at

Spiegelman Award
The 2011 Mortimer Spiegelman Award was presented in November to Sudipto Banerjee, University of Minnesota. The award, given annually since 1970, is presented to an outstanding public health statistician under the age of 40. Sudipto Banerjee was recognized for contributions to spatial and environmental statistics. The committee also acknowledged his leadership and strong success in external funding, PhD supervision, short course instruction, software development, and journal editing and refereeing.
See the call for nominations for the 2012 award here.

New IMS Program Secretary
IMS Council has approved the appointment of Judith Rousseau as IMS Program Secretary for a term of July 12, 2012 to August 10, 2015. She will replace Guenther Walther on the Executive Committee, following his four years of service. Judith is a professor at Ceremade at the Université Paris Dauphine: see her webpage at