The annual Myrto Lefkopoulou Distinguished Lecture is named in memory of a former faculty member in Harvard’s Department of Biostatistics who died of cancer in 1992, aged 34.

Each year the Lectureship is awarded to a promising biostatistical scientist who has made contributions to collaborative or methodologic research in the applications of statistical methods to biology or medicine and/or excellence in the teaching of biostatistics. Previous lecturers include Jeffrey Morris, David Dunson, Xihong Lin, Heping Zhang, Francesca Dominici, Jianqing Fan, Mark van der Laan, Geert Molenberghs, Marie Davidian, Danyu Lin, Bradley Carlin, Steven Goodman, Giovanni Parmigiani, Kathryn Roeder, Ronald Brookmeyer, Trevor Hastie, Hans-Georg Mueller, and Louise Ryan.

Nominations for the 2012 lectureship are solicited: please see

Deadline for nominations is March 31, 2012.