Search site

IMS arXiv
Electronic access to journals and articles

Probability section
Statistics section
Project Euclid


IMS Journals and Publications

Annals of Statistics
Annals of Applied Statistics
Annals of Probability
Annals of Applied Probability
Statistical Science
IMS Bulletin
Lecture Notes - Monograph Series
NSF-CBMS Regional Conference Series
IMS Collections
IMS Monographs and IMS Textbooks

IMS Co-sponsored Journals and Publications
Current Index to Statistics
Electronic Communications in Probability
Electronic Journal of Probability
Electronic Journal of Statistics
Journal of Computational and Graphical Statistics
Probability Surveys
Statistics Surveys

IMS Affiliated Journals
Observational Studies
Probability and Mathematical Statistics
Stochastic Systems

IMS Supported Journals
ALEA - Latin American Journal of Probability and Mathematical Statistics
Annales de l'Institut Henri Poincaré
Bayesian Analysis
Brazilian Journal of Probability and Statistics

COPSS Awards 2014: Nominations Open

created 20  Nov  2013

Each year, the statistical profession recognizes outstanding members at the Joint Statistical Meetings in an awards ceremony organized by the Committee of Presidents of Statistical Societies (COPSS). Nominations are an important part of the process, and everyone can contribute—from the newly minted PhD graduate to the pharmaceutical statistician to the longtime professor. All statisticians see excellence in their mentors, colleagues, and management and it’s important to single out those persons who make exceptional contributions to the profession. So take a few minutes, review the various awards on tap this year, and see if you can identify worthy individuals. The following awards are being presented at the 2014 JSM in Boston, Massachusetts.

The Fisher Lectureship is awarded yearly for outstanding contributions to aspects of statistics and probability that closely relate to the scientific collection and interpretation of data. The award exists to recognize the importance of statistical methods for scientific investigations. The awardee’s hour-long lecture is delivered during JSM. Eligible nominations should be sent in PDF format by December 15, 2013 to the Fisher Award committee chair, Terry Speed at

The Presidents’ Award is presented yearly in recognition of outstanding contributions to the statistics profession. It is typically granted to an individual who has not yet reached his or her 41st birthday. In the special case of an individual who has received his or her statistically related terminal degree fewer than 12 years prior to the nomination deadline, the individual will be eligible if he or she has not yet reached his or her 46th birthday during the year of the award. Eligible nominations should include a current curriculum vitae, the nominee’s date of birth, a nomination letter (up to three pages), and up to five supporting letters. Nominations should be sent in PDF format by January 15, 2014, to the Presidents’ Award committee chair. Ray Carroll at

The Elizabeth L. Scott Award is presented biennially (even years) to an individual who has helped foster opportunities in statistics for women and exemplifies the contributions of Elizabeth Scott’s lifelong efforts to further the careers of women in academia. Nominations should be sent by January 15, 2014, to the Elizabeth Scott Award committee chair Shirley Mills at These awards are jointly sponsored by the American Statistical Association, Institute of Mathematical Statistics, International Biometric Society (ENAR and WNAR), and Statistical Society of Canada. They represent a discipline-wide acknowledgement of the outstanding contributions of statisticians, regardless of their affiliations with any professional society. For detailed award criteria and nominating procedures, see the COPSS website at

Click here to return to IMS News.