Search site

IMS arXiv
Electronic access to journals and articles

Probability section
Statistics section
Project Euclid


IMS Journals and Publications

Annals of Statistics
Annals of Applied Statistics
Annals of Probability
Annals of Applied Probability
Statistical Science
IMS Bulletin
Lecture Notes - Monograph Series
NSF-CBMS Regional Conference Series
IMS Collections
IMS Monographs and IMS Textbooks

IMS Co-sponsored Journals and Publications
Current Index to Statistics
Electronic Communications in Probability
Electronic Journal of Probability
Electronic Journal of Statistics
Journal of Computational and Graphical Statistics
Probability Surveys
Statistics Surveys

IMS Affiliated Journals
Observational Studies
Probability and Mathematical Statistics
Stochastic Systems

IMS Supported Journals
ALEA - Latin American Journal of Probability and Mathematical Statistics
Annales de l'Institut Henri Poincaré
Bayesian Analysis
Brazilian Journal of Probability and Statistics

2008 IMS Fellows Named

created 25  Jun  2008

Alan Agresti, University of Florida: For contributions to categorical data analysis, through research and exceptional textbooks, and for excellence in teaching and mentoring of students.

Miguel A. Arcones, SUNY Binghamton: For contributions to probability and mathematical statistics including the bootstrap, U-statistics, M-estimators, Gaussian processes, limit theorems, empirical processes and large deviation theory; and for extensive editorial work.

M. J. (Susie) Bayarri, University of Valencia: For contributions to Bayesian analysis of selection models and queueing systems, model selection, statistical foundations, and the interface of statistics with complex computer modeling; and for service to the profession through numerous leadership roles and editorial work.

Erwin Bolthausen, Universität Zürich: For contributions to probability theory, stochastic models related to statistical physics; and for extensive editorial work.

Xia Chen, University of Tennessee: For contributions to the theory of ergodic Markov chains with general state space, to limit laws, and to large and moderate deviations for intersection local times.

Lancelot Fitzgerald James, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology: For contributions to Bayesian nonparametric statistics, the development of Poisson partition calculus for Levy processes; and for dedicated service to IMS.

Jiming Jiang, University of California at Davis: For contributions to statistical theory and methodology, especially in the fields of mixed effects models, small area estimation and model selection.

Haya Kaspi, Technion-Israel Institute of Technology: For contributions to the general theory of Markov processes and its applications, to the theory of Markov local time; and for excellence in teaching and editorial work.

Roger Koenker, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign: For contributions to statistical theory and methodology, especially regression quantiles, robustness and econometrics.

Abba M. Krieger, University of Pennsylvania: For contributions to diverse areas of probability and statistics; and for exceptional leadership as Chair of the Department of Statistics of the University of Pennsylvania.

Jean-François Le Gall, Université Paris-Sud (Orsay): For contributions to the fine properties of Brownian motion and to superprocesses. In particular, for his invention of the Brownian snake and its applications to the study of the sample path properties of super Brownian motion and to the resolution of conjectures for non-linear partial differential equations.

Zhenyang Lin, Zhejiang University, Hangzhou, China: For contributions to probability limit theory, sample path properties of stochastic processes, and asymptotic theory of large samples; for leadership in promoting the discipline of probability and statistics in China.

Bani K. Mallick, Texas A&M University: For contributions to Bayesian classification and regression, nonparametric hierarchical modeling, survival analysis, spatial statistics, and time series modeling; for excellent mentoring of graduate students and postdocs.

Hélène M. Massam, York University: For contributions to Wishart distributions and to graphical models.

Andrew Nobel, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill: For contributions to non-parametric function estimation, statistical learning, computational biology and information theory; and for dedicated service to IMS.

Yuval Peres, University of California at Berkeley and Microsoft Research: For contributions to many areas of probability theory and its applications; for excellent mentoring of graduate students and postdocs.

Ingrid Van Keilegom, Université Catholique de Louvain, Belgium: For contributions to statistical theory and methodology, especially semi- and nonparametric regression, survival analysis, and empirical likelihood methods.

Click here to return to IMS News.